titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Emil Stiaßny
born 25.12.1881 in Neudorf/Bohemia, died after 1956
Address: Vienna 2., Heinestraße 21/7 [1938: Schönererstraße 21/7]
 
 

Emil Stiaßny, born in Bohemia in 1881, was the owner of two hotels: "Deutscher Hof" in Vienna 2 and "Tiroler Hof" in the center of Vienna. In 1939, he was able to emigrate to Shanghai from where he later went to Los Angeles/USA. There, he married to his third wife, Gertrude Grün (born Schwarz) from Vienna, in 1953. He was related to Sigmund Stiaßny, the last executive president of the "Gesellschaft für Sammlung und Konservierung von Kunst- und historischen Denkmälern des Judentums" (Society for the Collection and Restoration of Judaic Works of Art and Historical Monuments).

Chronological overview of "Aryanisation", utilisation and restitution

19 June 1938: The residential building, the apartment and the two hotels "Deutscher Hof" and "Tiroler Hof" are "aryanised". The "Depot of Movables", deals exclusively with the confiscated furnishings of the apartment.

August 1938: The "Depot of Movables" records a list of all the objects on the scene. After a discussion with the Denkmalamt (Office of Historical Monuments), the customised furnishings are not dismantled nor transported, for this is considered to be "loss of value and vandalism". Twenty-five carpets, which Josefine Stiaßny is still able to store in a furniture firm on 26 July 1938, are collected by the "Depot of Movables" in December 1938 and stored in their own carpet storeroom.

May 1940: The Reichsbauamt Ost (Planning and Construction Office of the Reich for Eastern Europe) in Vienna moves into the house and takes over a large part of the furniture for its office purposes. The other part is brought to the "Depot of Movables". Tableware, china and glass are stored in the Silver Collection of the "Depot of Movables".

1941/1944: 114 books are handed over to the Nationalbibliothek and a model ship to the Technisches Museum (Museum of Science and Technology), 13 non-listed objects are handed over to the weapon collection of the Kunsthistorisches Museum (Art History Museum) and approximately 150 other objects, not listed in the Inventory, are sold by auction at the Dorotheum in Vienna in 1944.

1947-1951: In 1947, Emil Stiaßny initiates a restitution procedure for his house as well as for the "Deutscher Hof" hotel. At the beginning of 1951, the restitution commission grants him back the hotel that had been badly damaged by bombing.

October 1969: The objects that had been stored in the Silver Collection in 1940 without being recorded in the Inventory are sold by auction at the Dorotheum in Vienna for the "Collection Points A and B for the benefit of political or racial victims", as no claim for their restitution had been made.

1999/2000: Descendants of Emil Stiaßny are still being sought.

 
Exponat

Statue, marble.
Taken from the 'aryanised' apartment of Emi Stiaßny

Held ready for restitution since 1999

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Emil Stiaßny
geb. 25.12.1881 in Neudorf/Böhmen, gest. nach 1956
Wohnadresse: Wien 2., Heinestraße 21/7 [1938: Schönererstraße 21/7]
 
 

Emil Stiaßny, geboren 1881 Böhmen, war der Besitzer der Hotels "Deutscher Hof" in Wien 2., und "Tiroler Hof" in der Wiener Innenstadt. Er konnte im November 1939 nach Shanghai emigrieren, von wo er später nach Los Angeles/USA ging. Dort heiratete er 1953 in dritter Ehe Gertrude Grün (geb. Schwarz) aus Wien. Er war verwandt mit Sigmund Stiaßny, dem letzten geschäftsführenden Vorsitzenden der "Gesellschaft für Sammlung und Konservierung von Kunst- und historischen Denkmälern des Judentums".

Chronologischer Überblick über "Arisierung", Verwertung und Restitution:

19. Juni 1938: Das Wohnhaus, die Wohnung und die beiden Hotelbetriebe "Deutscher Hof" und "Tiroler Hof" werden "arisiert". Das Mobiliendepot ist ausschließlich mit der "arisierten" Einrichtung der Wohnung befaßt.

August 1938: Das Mobiliendepot nimmt vor Ort alle Gegenstände in Listen auf. Die aufeinander abgestimmte, teilweise eingebaute Einrichtung wird nach Beratschlagung mit dem Denkmalamt nicht zerlegt und abtransportiert, da dies "Wertverschwendung und Vandalismus" wäre. 25 Teppiche, die Josefine Stiaßny noch am 26. Juli 1938 bei einer Möbelfirma einlagern kann, werden im Dezember 1938 vom Mobiliendepot abgeholt und im eigenen Teppichmagazin eingelagert.

Mai 1940: Das Reichsbauamt Wien-Ost zieht in die Wohnung ein und übernimmt den Großteil der Möbel für seine Bürozwecke. Der andere Teil wird in das Mobiliendepot gebracht. Tafelgeschirr, Porzellan und Glas werden in der Silberkammer eingelagert.

1941/1944: 1941 werden 114 Bücher an die Nationalbibliothek und ein Schiffsmodell an das Wiener Technische Museum abgegeben, 13 nichtinventarisierte Objekte werden 1944 an die Waffensammlung des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien abgegeben und ungefähr 150 nichtinventarisierte Objekte im Wiener Dorotheum versteigert.

1947-1951: Emil Stiaßny leitet 1947 ein Rückstellungsverfahren für sein Wohnhaus sowie für das Hotel "Deutscher Hof" ein. Anfang 1951 wird ihm das durch Bombentreffer schwer beschädigte Hotel von der Rückstellungskommission wieder zugesprochen.

Oktober 1969: Im Wiener Dorotheum werden die 1940 in der Silberkammer ohne Inventarisierung eingelagerten Objekte für die "Sammelstellen A und B zugunsten politisch oder rassisch Verfolgter" versteigert, da dafür beim Mobiliendepot kein Rückstellungsantrag gestellt worden war.

1999/2000: Die ErbInnen von Emil Stiaßny werden weiter gesucht.

 
Exponat

Marmor-Statue.
Aus der 'arisierten' Wohnung von Emil Stiaßny

Seit 1999 im Mobiliendepot zur Rückgabe bereitgestellt

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english