titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Oskar Pöller
born 18.5.1883 in Scala, murdered 2.4.1942 in a Concentration Camp
Address: Vienna 4., Prinz Eugen Straße 34/3 (home and office)
Vienna 4., Operngasse 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1a "Bärenmühle" (hire agency)
 
 

The Privy Councillor Oskar Leon Pöller, born in Poland in 1883, was the son of Dr. Hermann Pöller and Regina Pöller (born Zwerdling). He had been an Austrian citizen since 1924. He lived in Berlin until 1933 and escaped to Vienna just after National Socialism had come into power. As a building contractor, he erected blocks of flats between Karlsplatz, Rechte Wienzeile and Operngasse. At the beginning of 1938, weakened by a stroke, he fled to the Netherlands and further on to France in 1938/39. There, he was arrested and on 2 April 1942 was murdered "in a concentration camp in France". His son was able to emigrate and died in Chicago in 1946. His wife Elisabeth (*1890 in Prague) and his daughter Erika Maria Theresia (*1922) were arrested in Paris and, in 1942, were transported together via Drancy to the concentration camp of Auschwitz and murdered. His daughter Angela Romana Teschner (*1918) lives in the USA.

Chronological overview of "Aryanisation", utilisation and restitution

15 July 1938: Six blocks of flats in Vienna 1 and 4 as well as Oskar Pöller's house are confiscated by the Gestapo. However, the two houses in Operngasse 18, 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1, 1a had already been "bought" at the beginning of April from Oskar Pöller by Hilda Vogt for a dumping price. The money is placed in a trust that the Gestapo seizes in 1940. Oskar Pöller receives only 50 000 shillings.

September 1938: The "Depot of Movables" is given instructions to enter the furniture of the hire agency in Operngasse 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1a in the Inventory. The new tenants of the rooms - among others the Traktoren-Union (Tractor Union) - continue to use the furniture provisionally. The furnishings of the private apartment and of the main office next to it in Vienna 4., Prinz Eugen-Straße 34, in which a particularly precious inventory, period furniture, carpets and a collection of china are found, is likewise "aryanised". The "Depot of Movables" is not involved.

1939: The furniture of the hire agency is transferred to the "Depot of Movables" and registered in the Inventory.

1948-1957: In June 1948, Oskar Pöller's heirs begin a restitution procedure against the buyer of the real estate, Hilda Vogt. In 1949, they are granted the houses on principle, but the negotiations drag on until 1957. In 1951, a comparison of the heirs is rejected. After over nine years of litigation, the house is not returned. In 1957, the owner keeps the house for a small equalisation payment to the heirs.

1999: Numerous letters are written to the heir, but no answer has been received to date.

 
Exponat

Typewriter.
Taken from the 'aryanised' apartment of Oskar Pöller

Held ready for restitution since 1998

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Oskar Pöller
geb. 18.5.1883 in Scala, ermordet am 2.4.1942 im KZ
Wohnadresse: Wien 4., Prinz Eugen Straße 34/3 (Wohnung und Büro)
Wien 4., Operngasse 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1a "Bärenmühle" (Vermietungsbüro)
 
 

Geheimrat Oskar Leon Pöller, geboren 1883 in Polen, war der Sohn von Dr. Hermann Pöller und Regina Pöller (geb. Zwerdling). Seit 1924 war er österreichischer Staatsbürger. Er lebte bis 1933 in Berlin und flüchtete nach der nationalsozialistischen Machtergreifung nach Wien. Als Bauunternehmer errichtete er zwischen Karlsplatz, Rechter Wienzeile und Operngasse Mietshäuser. Anfang 1938 durch einen Schlaganfall eingeschränkt, flüchtete er 1938/39 in die Niederlande und weiter nach Frankreich. Dort wurde er verhaftet und am 2. April 1942 "in einem KZ in Frankreich" ermordet. Sein Sohn konnte emigrieren und starb 1946 in Chicago. Seine Frau Elisabeth (*1890 in Prag) und seine Tochter Erika Maria Theresia (*1922) wurden in Paris verhaftet und über Drancy 1942 gemeinsam in das KZ Auschwitz transportiert und ermordet. Seine Tochter Angela Romana Teschner (*1918) überlebte in Amerika.

Chronologischer Überblick über "Arisierung", Verwertung und Restitution:

15. Juli 1938: Sechs Mietshäuser im 1. und 4. Bezirk und die Wohnung von Oskar Pöller werden von der Gestapo "arisiert". Die beiden Häuser Operngasse 18, 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1, 1a werden aber bereits Anfang April von Hilda Vogt direkt von Oskar Pöller zu einem Dumpingpreis "gekauft". Das Geld wird auf ein Treuhandkonto gelegt, das 1940 von der Gestapo eingezogen wird. Oskar Pöller erhält lediglich öS 50.000,-.

September 1938: Das Mobiliendepot erhält den Auftrag, die Möbel des Vermietungsbüros im Haus Operngasse 20/Rechte Wienzeile 1a zu inventarisieren. Die Nachmieter der Räume - unter anderem die Traktoren-Union - nützen das Mobiliar vorläufig weiter. Die Einrichtung der Privatwohnung und des danebenliegenden Hauptbüros in Wien 4. Prinz Eugen-Straße 34, in dem sich besonders wertvolles Inventar, Stilmöbel, Teppiche, die Porzellansammlung befinden, wird ebenfalls "arisiert". Das Mobiliendepot wird dabei nicht herangezogen.

1939: Die Möbel des Vermietungsbüros werden in das Mobiliendepot gebracht und inventarisiert.

1948-1957: Im Juni 1948 eröffnen die ErbInnen ein Rückstellungsverfahren gegen die Käuferin der Liegenschaft. Die Häuser werden ihnen 1949 prinzipiell zugesprochen. Die Verhandlungen ziehen sich aber noch bis 1957. Ein Vergleich der ErbInnen wurde 1951 ausgeschlagen. Nach 9jährigem Prozessieren wird das Haus nicht rückerstattet, sondern bleibt, gegen eine geringe Ausgleichszahlung, im Besitz der "Käuferin" von 1938.

1999/2000: Die Erbin wird mehrmals angeschrieben, bisher leider ohne Antwort.

 
Exponat

Schreibmaschine.
Aus der 'arisierten' Wohnung von Oskar Pöller

Seit 1998 im Mobiliendepot zur Rückgabe bereitgestellt

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english