titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

The Depot of Movables
 
 


The Imperial "Depot of Movables and Material" was a court service and administrative authority founded in 1747 by Empress Maria Theresa and modelled after the French garde-meuble. Its main function was to provide the furnishings for Imperial apartments, both those in the Vienna Hofburg (imperial residence) and those the empress occupied when she travelled. In 1848, the Obersthofmeisteramt (Office of the Grand Master of the Household) was dissolved and the responsibility for royal furnishings delegated to the Schlosshauptmannschaften (administrations of the individual palaces and residences). In 1901, a depot with workshops and spacious storage facilities was established in Mariahilferstrasse, and the furnishing of both palaces and public offices was centralised.

After the end of the monarchy, the Depot, along with other divisions of the Imperial household (Court Silver and Table Room, Court Linen Room, Court Light Room, Court cellar, Court kitchens) was taken over by the republic and placed under the auspices of the Ministry of Trade and Commerce as Bundesmobilienverwaltung (Federal administration of movables). It was mainly designed to be a collection of objects with which to furnish public offices, ministries and embassies. In addition, small museum collections went on display in 1923 in the Silver Room and the "Depot of Movables".

The mid-1980s marked the beginning of a slow reorientation process aimed at turning the increasingly valuable collections into museums. A new concept had to be developed, especially for the museum area, while at the same time continuing the task of managing and lending the furnishings. Both collections were refurbished and reorganised: the Silver Room reopened in 1995, and the Imperial "Depot of Movables" was converted to its present form, a large museum, in 1998. The private limited Schönbrunn Cultural and Organisational Company has served as the operating authority of both museums since they opened.



 

Exponat

Exponat

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Das Mobiliendepot
 
 


Das "Hofmobilien-und Materialdepot" wurde 1747 als Hofdienst- und Verwaltungsstelle von Kaiserin Maria Theresia nach dem Vorbild des französischen "garde meuble" gegründet. Seine Aufgaben waren hauptsächlich die Ausstattung der kaiserlichen Appartements in der Hofburg sowie zur Ausstattung der Hofreisen. 1848 wurde diese Stelle des Obersthofmeisteramts aufgelöst und den einzelnen Schlosshauptmannschaften unterstellt. 1901, mit der Errichtung eines Depots auf der Mariahilferstrasse, wurden die Ausstattungsfunktionen für die Schlösser und Ämter zentralisiert und das Depot mit Werkstätten und großzügigen Lagermöglichkeiten ausgestattet.

Nach dem Ende der Monarchie wurde es von der Republik übernommen und mit den anderen Hofdienststellen des kaiserlichen Haushalts - Hofsilber-und Tafelkammer, Wäschekammer, Lichtkammer, Hofkeller und den verschiedenen Hofküchen - als Bundesmobilienverwaltung dem Wirtschaftsministerium unterstellt. Seine Hauptfunktion war eine Gebrauchssammlung für die Einrichtung der Büros der Ämter, Ministerien und Botschaften; daneben wurden 1923 auch kleine museale Schausammlungen in der Silberkammer und im Mobiliendepot eröffnet.

Ab Mitte der 80er Jahre geht eine langsame Umorientierung in Richtung Musealisierung der immer wertvoller werdenden Bestände vor sich, die eine Neukonzeption vor allem des musealen Bereiches erfordern, neben den immer noch aktuellen Aufgaben der Verwaltung und Ausleihe des Gebrauchsmobiliars. Diese Sanierung und Neuaufstellung wurde für beide Sammlungen geleistet; 1995 wurde die Silberkammer neu eröffnet, 1998 das nunmehr zum großen Museum umgestaltete "Kaiserliche Hofmobiliendepot". Als Betreiber der Museen wurde die Schloß Schönbrunn Kultur- und Betriebsges.m.b.H. jeweils seit den Eröffnungen beauftragt.

 

Exponat

Exponat

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english