titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Moritz König
born 20.05.1891 in Moscon, murdered December 1944
Address: Vienna 1., Spiegelgasse 19/25
 
 

Moritz König, born in Hungary in 1891 and Austrian citizen since 1921, was the owner of the firm A. König (linen business) in Vienna 1., Spiegelgasse 8, with branches in Vienna 1., Stock-im-Eisen-Platz 3 and in Badgastein, Kirchplatz 8. He was single and had no children. In 1938 he became a Hungarian citizen. His registration in Vienna was cancelled by the police with the annotation: "beginning of September 1939: arrested in Ober Pullendorf". In the end, he lived in Budapest VI, Terét kurut 17, from where he was taken away by Hungarian fascists on 28 November 1944. He was legally declared dead in 1948 - 15 December 1944 was determined as the date of his death.

Chronological overview of "Aryanisation", utilisation and restitution

22 October 1938: Moritz König's flat in Vienna is confiscated by the Gestapo. The real estate and a villa in Neuhaus im Triestingtal are also confiscated and, together with the firm A. König, are "aryanised" immediately afterwards by Kurt Suter. The latter dies in 1940 and bequeaths all to his family.

January 1939: The Amt des Reichsstatthalters (governor's office of the Reich) gives the "Depot of Movables" the instruction to transfer the furniture, those still in the flat in Spiegelgasse 19 and those which has been deposited in the storagefirm "Lüftschitz" to the "Depot of Movables" and enter it in the Inventory.

1948-1956: In 1948, Moritz König's descendants apply for the restitution of the firm. The procedure is not concluded until 1956, in favour of the successors.

1998-2000: The search for the heirs leads, in addition to Vienna, to Tel-Aviv, Budapest, Copenhagen and Bratislava. No one has been found yet.
 
Exponat

Oil painting on canvas.
Taken from the 'aryanised' apartment of Moritz König

Held ready for restitution since 1999

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Moritz König
geb. 20.05.1891 in Moscon, ermordet im Dezember 1944
Wohnadresse: Wien 1., Spiegelgasse 19/25
 
 

Moritz König, 1891 in Ungarn geboren, seit 1921 österreichischer Staatsbürger, war Eigentümer der Firma A. König (Wäschehandel) in Wien 1., Spiegelgasse 8 mit Filialen in Wien 1., Stock-im-Eisen-Platz 3 und in Badgastein, Kirchplatz 8. Er war ledig und kinderlos. 1938 wurde er ungarischer Staatsbürger. Aus Wien wurde er polizeilich abgemeldet mit dem Vermerk: "Anfang September 1939: Haft Ober Pullendorf". Zuletzt wohnte er in Budapest VI., Terét kurut 17, von wo er am 28. November 1944 von ungarischen Faschisten verschleppt wurde. 1948 wurde er gerichtlich für tot erklärt - als Zeitpunkt des Ablebens wurde der 15. Dezember 1944 bestimmt.

Chronologischer Überblick über "Arisierung", Verwertung und Restitution:

22. Oktober 1938: Die Wohnung von Moritz König in Wien wird von der Gestapo beschlagnahmt. Ein Grundstück und Haus in Neuhaus im Triestingtal werden ebenfalls von der Gestapo beschlagnahmt und unmittelbar darauf gemeinsam mit der "Firma A. König" von Kurt Suter "arisiert", der 1940 stirbt und alles seiner Familie hinterläßt.

Jänner 1939: Das Mobiliendepot erhält vom Amt des Reichsstatthalters den Auftrag, die Möbel, die noch in der Wohnung in der Spiegelgasse 19 und bei der Lagerfirma "Lüftschitz" deponiert sind, in das Mobiliendepot zu überführen und zu inventarisieren.

1948-1956: Die ErbInnen von Moritz König stellen 1948 für die Firma einen Antrag auf Rückstellung. Das Verfahren wird erst 1956 abgeschlossen, mit positivem Bescheid für die ErbInnen.

1998-2000: Die Suche nach noch lebenden ErbInnen führt neben Wien nach Tel-Aviv, Budapest, Kopenhagen und Bratislava. Noch konnten aber keine ErbInnen gefunden werden.

 
Exponat

Ölgemälde auf Leinwand.
Aus der 'arisierten' Wohnung von Moritz König

Seit 1999 im Mobiliendepot zur Rückgabe bereitgestellt

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english