titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Wilhelm Goldenberg
born 03.01.1887 in Vienna, died 23.03.1943 in London
Address: Vienna 18., Scheibenbergstraße 27
 
 

Wilhelm Goldenberg was a textile wholesaler and a member of the Turkish-Israeli community in Vienna. He had been married to Stefanie Goldenberg (born Engel) since 1919. He, his wife and his son Friedrich Wilhelm Goldenberg, escaped to England via Switzerland. Their registration was cancelled in the registration records with the annotation "unknown abroad on the 14 March 1938". He died in London on 23 March 1943. His son Frederick Gillard lives today in London.

Chronological overview of "Aryanisation", utilisation and restitution

13 June 1938: Wilhelm and Stefanie Goldenberg's villa and real estate in Vienna are "aryanised" by the Gestapo. The Gestapo deposits the furniture with the transport agency Zdenko Dworak in Vienna.

June 1940: By order of the Gestapo, the "Depot of Movables" takes over the furniture from the agency Zdenko Dvorak "for the Austrian Abwicklungsstelle (clearing house)", stores it and enters it in the Inventory. In December, the stock of glass, silver cutlery, china and linen that was still packed in five trunks is put on lists and stored in the Silver Collection of the "Depot of Movables".

August 1941: 85 books are handed over to the Nationalbibliothek.

1947-1953: By 1947, the widow Stefanie Goldenberg and the son Frederick Gillard, apply from London for restitution against the Schmid family who, in 1941, bought the house from the German Reich as a confiscated property. However, although they are indeed granted the house in 1947/48, the procedure still drags on over years. They finally sell the house in 1953. They do not know that the furniture is stored in the "Depot of Movables".

1957: Isidor Baumann mistakenly claims the furniture, believing it belongs to him.

October 1969: The objects that have been stored in the Silver Collection without being put in the Inventory are sold by auction at the Dorotheum in Vienna for the "Collection Points A and B for the benefit of political or racial victims". In 1969 the Finanzlandesdirektion determined that the objects had actually belonged to the collection points since 1956, because the legal successors had not claimed for restitution in time. The current address of the family is known to the Finanzlandesdirektion.

1999/2000: As the search for the heirs goes on, Wilhelm Goldenberg's son, Frederick Gillard, can be contacted in London. The objects that are still available can be returned at the end 1999/beginning of 2000.

 
Exponat

Chair.
Taken from the 'aryanised' apartment of Wilhelm Goldenberg

Returned to the heirs in 2000

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Wilhelm Goldenberg
geb. 03.01.1887 in Wien, gest. 23.03.1943 in London
Wohnadresse: Wien 18., Scheibenbergstraße 27
 
 

Wilhelm Goldenberg war Textilwarengroßhändler, Mitglied der türkischen israelitischen Kultusgemeinde in Wien und seit 1919 verheiratet mit Stefanie Goldenberg (geb. Engel). Er, seine Frau und sein Sohn Friedrich Wilhelm Goldenberg konnten über die Schweiz nach England flüchten. Im Melderegister wurden sie abgemeldet mit dem Vermerk "14.03.1938 unbekannt ins Ausland". Er starb am 23. März 1943 in London. Sein Sohn, Frederick Gillard, lebt heute in London.

Chronologischer Überblick über "Arisierung", Verwertung und Restitution:

13. Juni 1938: Villa und Liegenschaft von Wilhelm und Stefanie Goldenberg in Wien werden von der Gestapo "arisiert". Die Möbel werden von der Gestapo der Spedition Zdenko Dworak in Wien zur Verwahrung gegeben.

Juni 1940: Über Auftrag der Gestapo übernimmt das Mobiliendepot die Möbel von der Spedition Zdenko Dworak "für die Abwicklungsstelle des Landes Österreich", lagert sie ein und inventarisiert sie. Im Dezember werden auch die noch in 5 Kisten verpackten Glas-, Silberbesteck-, Porzellan- und Wäschebestände in Listen aufgenommen und in der Silberkammer des Mobiliendepots eingelagert.

August 1941: 85 Bücher werden an die Nationalbibliothek abgegeben.

1947-1953: Die Witwe Stefanie Goldenberg und der Sohn Frederick Gillard stellen von London aus 1947 gegen die Familie Schmid, die das Haus 1941 vom Deutschen Reich als beschlagnahmtes Vermögen gekauft hat, einen Rückstellungsantrag. Das Haus wird ihnen zwar 1947/48 zugesprochen, das Verfahren zieht sich aber noch über Jahre. Schließlich verkaufen sie 1953 das Haus. Sie wissen damals nicht, dass ihre Möbel im Mobiliendepot lagern.

1957: Herr Isidor Baumann erhebt Anspruch auf die Möbel, was sich aber als Irrtum herausstellt.

Oktober 1969: Im Wiener Dorotheum werden die in der Silberkammer ohne Inventarisierung eingelagerten Objekte für die "Sammelstellen A und B zugunsten politisch oder rassisch Verfolgter" versteigert. Zuvor hat die Finanzlandesdirektion 1969 entschieden, daß die Objekte seit 1956 an die Sammelstellen übergegangen wären, da die RechtsnachfolgerInnen keine fristgerechte Rückstellungsanträge gestellt hätten. Der Finanzbehörde war die aktuelle Adresse der Familie bekannt.

1999/2000: Der Sohn von Wilhelm Goldenbergs, Frederick Gillard, wird in London ausfindig gemacht und kontaktiert. Die noch vorhandenen Objekte können Ende 1999/Anfang 2000 zurückgegeben werden.

 
Exponat

Sessel.
Aus der 'arisierten' Wohnung von Wilhelm Goldenberg

2000 an den Erben zurückgegeben

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english