titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Hugo Breitner
born 09.11.1873 in Vienna, died 03.05.1946 Claremont/USA
Address: Kritzendorf, Feldstraße 5 (1938: Horst Wessel-Straße 5)
 
 

As the Councillor of Finance of the City of Vienna (1919-1932), Dr. Hugo Breitner, formerly head of the Austrian Länderbank (Central Bank), laid the financial foundation of the exemplary housing and social policy of Rotes Wien (Red Vienna) e.g. by means of graduated and progressive luxury taxes designated for the housing of the poor. After resigning, he undertook in 1932-1934 the direction of the Zentralsparkasse (Central Savings and Loan) of the City of Vienna. Following the Februarkämpfe of 1934 (persecution of the socialists by the austrofascists), he was arrested by the austrofascist regime. In 1936, via Florence, he emigrated to the USA (1939). In the exile, he became member of the Advisory Board for the Austrian Labor Committee and the Austrian Labor Information and, finally, taught city planning at the University of Claremont, California. He died in 1946 shortly before his planned return to Vienna. In 1948, the newly-built block of flats "Hugo-Breitner-Hof" in Vienna's 14th District was named after him. In August 1950, his widow Therese Breitner brought Hugo Breitner's funeral urn from the USA to Vienna. It was officially buried in a memorial grave in the Wiener Zentralfriedhof (Vienna Central Cemetery). His daughter now lives in the USA.

Chronological overview of "Aryanisation", utilisation and restitution

11 June 1938: Villa and property in Kritzendorf are "aryanised" by the Gestapo.

December 1938: The "Depot of Movables" makes a list of all the objects on the scene. The greatest portion is left to the head of Kritzendorf National Socialist Party's local branch, which was handed over the house. Textiles and household items are given to the Nazi public welfare organisation; dishes, glasses, cutlery are deposited in the Silver Collection. The remaining furniture is stored in the "Depot of Movables".

June 1939: The objects that were previously kept separately become part of the general Inventory.

December 1939: 69 books are handed over to the Nationalbibliothek (National Library).

1947-1954: Hugo Breitner's widow, who lives in California, conducts a restitution procedure against the new owners of the villa. In 1952, she is granted the house on principle. But the negotiations for a compromise drag on. She finally gives up and sells the villa to its residents, the family Morawsky who had acquired it as a confiscated good in 1941.

October 1969: The objects that have been stored in the Silver Collection without being put in the Inventory are sold by auction at the Dorotheum (State auction house) in Vienna for the "Collection Points A and B for the benefit of political or racial victims". The Finanzlandesdirektion (Austrian fiscal authorities) had determined that the objects had actually belonged to the "Collection Points" since 1956, as the owners had not claimed for restitution in time. In 1969, the address of the family is known to the Finanzlandesdirektion.

Beginning of 2000: The daughter is contacted with regard to the restitution of the objects that are still available at the "Depot of Movables".

 
Exponat

Bathroom mirror.
Taken from the 'aryanised' apartment of Hugo Breitner

Held ready for restitution since 1999

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Hugo Breitner
geb. 09.11.1873 in Wien, gest. 03.05.1946 Claremont/USA
Wohnadresse: Kritzendorf, Feldstraße 5 (1938: Horst Wessel-Straße 5)
 
 

Dr. Hugo Breitner, früher Direktor der Österreichischen Länderbank, schuf als Wiener Finanzstadtrat (1919-1932) die finanzielle Grundlage der vorbildlichen Wohnbau- und Sozialpolitik des "Roten Wien", unter anderem durch eine Politik sozial gestaffelter, progressiver Steuern wie Luxus- und Wohnbausteuer. Nach seinem Rücktritt übernahm er 1932-1934 die Leitung der Zentralsparkasse der Gemeinde Wien. Nach den Februarkämpfen 1934 wurde er vom austrofaschistischen Regime verhaftet. 1936 emigrierte er über Florenz in die USA (1939). In der Emigration war er Mitglied des Advisory Board des Austrian Labor Committee und der Austrian Labor Information und zuletzt Dozent für Städtewesen an der Univ. Claremont/Kalifornien. 1946 starb er kurz vor der geplanten Rückkehr nach Wien. 1948 wurde die neuerrichtete Gemeinde-Wohnhausanlage "Hugo-Breitner-Hof" in Wien 14., nach ihm benannt. Im August 1950 brachte seine Witwe, Therese Breitner, seine Urne aus den USA nach Wien, wo sie in einem Ehrengrab am Wiener Zentralfriedhof feierlich beigesetzt wurde.

Chronologischer Überblick über "Arisierung", Verwertung und Restitution:

11. Juni 1938: Villa und Liegenschaft in Kritzendorf werden von der Gestapo "arisiert".

Dezember 1938: Das Mobiliendepot nimmt vor Ort alle Objekte in Listen auf. Der größte Teil wird der im Hause untergebrachten NSDAP-Ortsgruppenleitung Kritzendorf überlassen. Wäsche und Haushaltsgegenstände wird an die NS-Volkswohlfahrt übergeben; Geschirr, Gläser, Bestecke werden in der Silberkammer deponiert. Die verbleibenden Möbel werden im Mobiliendepot eingelagert.

Juni 1939: Die bislang gesondert verwahrten Objekte werden inventarisiert und damit in den Bestand integriert.

Dezember 1939: An die Nationalbibliothek werden 69 Bücher abgegeben.

1947-1954: Die in Kalifornien lebende Witwe Hugo Breitners leitet 1947 gegen die neuen Besitzer der Villa Breitner ein Rückstellungsverfahren ein. Das Haus wird ihr 1952 prinzipiell zugesprochen. Die Verhandlungen ziehen sich aber noch weiter hin. Schließlich gibt sie auf und verkauft die Villa der darin wohnenden Familie Morawsy, die sie 1941 als beschlagnahmtes Gut erworben hatten.

Oktober 1969: Im Wiener Dorotheum werden die bis dahin in der Silberkammer ohne Inventarisierung eingelagerten Objekte für die "Sammelstellen A und B zugunsten politisch oder rassisch Verfolgter" versteigert. Zuvor hat die Finanzlandesdirektion 1969 entschieden, daß die Objekte seit 1956 an die "Sammelstellen" übergegangen wären, da die Eigentümer keinen fristgerechten Rückstellungsanspruch gestellt hätten. Die Adresse der Familie ist den Finanzbehörden damals bekannt.

Anfang 2000: Mit der Tochter Hugo Breitners wird Kontakt aufgenommen über die Rückgabe der im Mobiliendepot noch vorhandenen Objekte.

 
Exponat

Toilettespiegel.
Aus der 'arisierten' Wohnung von Hugo Breitner

Seit 1999 im Mobiliendepot zur Rückgabe bereitgestellt

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english