titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

'Aryanisation'
 
 


is the term used to refer to the expropriation of Jewish property on racial grounds in the Nazi era. After the "Anschluss" - the annexation of Austria by Nazi Germany - in March 1938, also Jews in Austria were victims of the persecution policy pursued by the Nazis. At present, these events are again the subject of public discussions, especially in connection with spectacular cases of looted works of art. However, the looting organised by the state did not stop at objects of daily use in Jewish households in Vienna: cutlery from kitchen drawers or photographs on walls - nothing was safe.

Seized for the benefit of the Austrian state
This note appears in the files on the "Aryanisation" of eight Jewish households in Vienna whose furnishings were confiscated and stored in the state-owned Depot of Movables. These cases are the historical starting point of the exhibition. In 1938, about 5,000 objects were painstakingly listed, about 600 of them were entered in the inventory from 1939 onwards and thus the state took possession of these objects. Pieces of furniture from among these objects were lent - in conformity with the basic function of the Depot of Movables - to state offices and other borrowers. Until recently, such pieces of furniture were used in government offices or Austrian embassies abroad, without the new users being aware of where these objects came from.

Restitution
Only few pieces were restored to their owners after 1945. A few years ago, the Depot of Movables started to do research work on these objects. Since 1998, on the basis of the Austrian Federal Law on the Restitution of Works of Art, objects that are still available have been returned to the families of their former owners.

 

Exponat

Exponat

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

'Arisierung'
 
 


bezeichnet die rassistisch begründete Enteignung jüdischen Vermögens in der NS-Zeit. Nach dem "Anschluß" Österreichs an Nazi-Deutschland im März 1938 wurden auch die österreichischen Juden Opfer der auf Leib und Gut zielenden NS-Verfolgungspolitik. In der öffentlichen Diskussion erfahren zur Zeit diese Vorgänge vor allem im Zusammenhang mit spektakulären Kunstraubfällen eine neue Aktualität. Die staatlichen Beutezüge machten jedoch auch vor den alltäglichen Gegenständen jüdischer Haushalte in Wien nicht halt: Vom Besteck in der Lade bis zu den Erinnerungsfotografien an den Wänden wurde nichts ausgespart.

"zugunsten des Landes Österreich eingezogen"
findet sich als Vermerk in den Akten zur "Arisierung" von acht Wiener jüdischen Haushalten, deren beschlagnahmte Einrichtungen im staatlichen Mobiliendepot eingelagert wurden. Diese Fälle bilden den historischen Ausgangspunkt der Ausstellung. Ungefähr 5000 Objekte wurden 1938 penibel aufgelistet, rund 600 Gegenstände davon ab 1939 inventARISIERT und damit in staatlichen Besitz übernommen. Die Möbel aus diesem Bestand wurden - entsprechend der Funktion des Mobiliendepots - unter anderem an staatliche Dienststellen verliehen. Bis in jüngste Zeit fanden sich Möbel - ohne Wissen der neuen Nutzer - in einfachen Amtsstuben, Ministerien oder in österreichischen Botschaften im Ausland.

"Restitution"
Nur weniges war nach 1945 im Rahmen der Restitution an die Besitzer zurückgegeben worden. Seit einigen Jahren forscht das Mobiliendepot zu diesen Objekten. Noch vorhandene Stücke werden seit 1998 auf Grundlage des Kunstrückgabegesetzes an die früheren Besitzerfamilien zurückgegeben.

 

Exponat

Exponat

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english