titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Home

Exhibition:
 Installation
 Objects
 Pictures

 Depot of Movables
 'Aryanisation'
 8 cases
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Location

 Press release
 Press photographs
 Exhibition team
 

Eight 'Aryanisations'. An overview
 
 


In Vienna alone, the number of apartments of Jewish citizens that were "Aryanised" in 1938 is estimated at 70,000: confiscated by the secret state police ("Gestapo") or looted in an uncontrolled way. Those who lived in these apartments were persecuted on racial grounds and were forced to leave, driven out of their homes or deported.

Furnishings from eight households which were seized by the "Gestapo" were stored in the Depot of Movables. The officials who carried out these confiscations prepared accurate lists of all objects, in some cases immediately in the apartments. Room for room, furniture, paintings, carpets and table services were recorded in detail; private objects of daily life - such as a doll on a couch, a morning gown, a car jacket, or a private photograph on a wall - were also listed. Objects stated as being of "no value" - like underwear, table and bed linen, kitchen utensils, pillows and blankets - were entered into the lists but immediately given to the Nazi public welfare organisation. Works of art and books were handed over to museums and libraries. From 1939 onwards, 575 pieces of furniture and equipment from "Aryanised" households were entered into the inventory of the Depot of Movables and thus the state officially took possession of these objects.

From the 18th century onwards, the Depot of Movables fulfilled the function of furnishing Imperial palaces and offices. Since 1918, it performed the same function for government offices and embassies of the Republic of Austria. From 1939 onwards, in addition to the former Imperial furnishings, the Depot of Movables also used "Aryanised" pieces of furniture. They were rented out to private individuals and associations, and lent to offices of the Nazi regime. These objects were also used to furnish offices and apartments of Nazi leaders. About eighty "Aryanised" objects which were listed in the inventory were sold before 1945.

After 1945, the Depot of Movables failed to comply with its legal obligation to notify the authorities of the confiscated property administered by it. Therefore it was almost impossible for the owners to find their pieces of furniture again. Only two of the victims made claims for restitution. The restitutions remained incomplete. The remaining furniture continued to be used in offices or was left in the depot.

Over the past few years, the old files and inventory records have been examined carefully. Destruction during the war and use in offices over several decades had reduced the number of objects to 152. These furniture, paintings and carpets are now ready to be returned to the heirs. However, for the furnishings of two of the eight "Aryanised" apartments, the rightful owners have not yet been found. The search for them will continue.

 

Exponat

Exponat

home --- press release --- exhibition team
deutsch --- english

titelleiste
 
inventARISIERT:
 Startseite

Ausstellung:
 Installation
 Objekte
 Bilder

 Das Mobiliendepot
 'Arisierung'
 8 Fälle
  Hugo Breitner
  Viktor Ephrussi
  Wilhelm Goldenberg
  Moritz König
  Oskar Pöller
  Hedwig Schwarz
  Emil Stiaßny
  Paul Weiß

Service:
 Lageplan

 Pressetexte
 Pressebilder
 Ausstellungsteam
 

Acht 'Arisierungen'. Ein Überblick
 
 


1938 wurden allein in Wien geschätzte 70.000 Wohnungen jüdischer Bürger "arisiert": enteignet von der Geheimen Staatspolizei oder "wild" geplündert und ausgeraubt. Die aus rassischen Gründen verfolgten Bewohner mußten ihre Wohnungen verlassen, wurden vertrieben oder deportiert.

Acht Wohnungseinrichtungen, von der Gestapo beschlagnahmt, wurden im Mobiliendepot eingelagert. Die bearbeitenden Beamten legten meist noch vor Ort, in den Wohnungen, genaue Listen aller Objekte an. Raum für Raum wurden Möbel, Bilder, Teppiche und Geschirr detailliert aufgenommen; ebenso ganz private Alltagsgegenstände wie die Diwanpuppe, ein Schlafrock, die Autojacke oder das Erinnerungsfoto an der Wand. Als "wertlos" bezeichnete Gegenstände wie Wäsche, Küchenutensilien und Bettzeug wurden zwar aufgelistet, aber direkt an die nationalsozialistische Volkswohlfahrt weitergegeben. Kunstwerke und Bücher erhielten Museen beziehungsweise Bibliotheken. Ab 1939 wurden 575 der "arisierten" Einrichtungsgegenstände in das Inventar des Mobiliendepots eingetragen, inventARISIERT, und damit offiziell in staatlichen Besitz übernommen.

Das Mobiliendepot erfüllte seit dem 18. Jahrhundert die Aufgabe der repräsentativen Ausstattung kaiserlicher Schlösser und Amtsstuben. Seit 1918 richtete es Ämter, Ministerien und Botschaften der Republik Österreich ein. Ab 1939 wurden neben den ehemals kaiserlichen Gebrauchsgegenständen auch "arisierte" Möbel dafür verwendet. Man vermietete sie weiters an Privatpersonen oder an Vereine oder entlehnte sie zur Ausstattung an NS-Dienststellen. Auch Amts- und Wohnräume der NS-Führung wurden damit eingerichtet. An die achtzig inventARISIERTE Gegenstände wurden vor 1945 verkauft.

Nach 1945 unterließ das Mobiliendepot die gesetzlich verpflichtende Anmeldung des von ihm verwalteten enteigneten Vermögens. Den BesitzerInnen war es daher fast unmöglich, ihre Einrichtungsgegenstände wiederzufinden. Nur zwei der Geschädigten meldeten Rückstellungsansprüche an. Die Restitutionen blieben aber unvollständig. Das übrige Mobiliar wurde in Amtsräumen weiterverwendet oder man beließ es im Depot.

In den letzten Jahren wurden die alten Akten und Inventaraufzeichnungen aufgearbeitet. Zerstörungen durch Kriegsereignisse und jahrzehntelanger Gebrauch in Büros hatten den Möbelbestand auf 152 Objekte dezimiert. Diese Möbel, Bilder und Teppiche konnten noch zur Rückgabe an die ErbInnen bereitgestellt werden. Aber für zwei der acht "arisierten" Wohnungseinrichtungen sind bis heute noch keine rechtmässigen BesitzerInnen gefunden worden. Nach ihnen wird weiter gesucht.

 

Exponat

Exponat

start --- pressetexte --- ausstellungsteam
deutsch --- english